Sock Hop

Fantastic post by Violet Nesdoly on snails!

Violet Nesdoly / poems

On Tuesday I took my walk after a heavy morning shower. On a section of the pathway beside the creek I saw snail after snail. There must have been 10 or more! I bet I know why they were out there.

Sock Hop poem with snail collage

In case you can’t read the fancy font:

Sock Hop

The downpour drumbeats on the whorls of rooftop
irresistible call to a rain dance sock hop

V. Nesdoly (all rights reserved)

****************

Snail Facts

For those more interested in facts than whimsy, here are a few snail facts (from Snail-world.com and About.com):

  • The trail of mucous a snail leaves behind is a lubricant to reduce friction against  the surfaces over which it travels. Snail mucous won’t make you sick.
  • A snail moves about 50 yards per hour or 1.3 cm. per second—slowly but steadily.
  • Snails can see and sense sound vibrations. Upper tentacles are the eyes, the lower…

View original post 88 more words

2 comments on “Sock Hop

  1. Why thank you for the re-blog, Kim! It sounds like you had a good time at Write! Canada. Sure wish I could have been there. I also need to get a copy of your book. I think I know some little people who might like it (not to speak of wanting to do a review of it myself).

Leave a Reply

