Blackbird by Susan Plett

Painting of bird on mountaintop by Lilla Frerichs

Painting of bird on mountaintop by Lilla Frerichs

 

Excerpt from So Here’s a Thing I was Thinking About by Susan Plett

I was pointed towards the mountains.  I liked the view, so I reasoned that driving west couldn’t hurt anything, and would be nice scenery, at least.  I started driving, slowly, rather hoping the phone would ring or someone would text me, and just a few hundred metres from where I’d been parked, I came upon a huge flock of both redwinged and yellow headed blackbirds.  I love birds.  I do not remember ever seeing yellow headed blackbirds before last summer, and they delight me.  There was also a mudhen mama with several fuzzy babies in the ditch beside me, and I turned off the van and rolled down the windows and listened to birdsong, and watched birds being birds, and lifted “my eyes to the hills”* and thanked God for, once again, having my back when I just couldn’t go forward.

 

Click here to read more from “So Here’s a Thing I was Thinking About”

 

Leave a Reply

